37 John Street, Camden, NSW 2570 Lot 1 DP 216189
|Macaria. 37 John Street, Camden. c.1990 (Camden Images/John Kooyman)ca
History and Description
Macaria was built by Henry Thompson, a notable Camden identity, who took up residence in the mid 1840's. He founded the first water-driven mill at the corner of Argyle and Edward Streets and later built brick steam mills which eventually became the Camden Tweed Mills. It was for many years the home of Dr F.W. West and later of other medical doctors. Now it is owned by Camden Council and retained as part of their Civic Centre complex. The stable and barn, a small building of similar style on the southern side of the house, were demolished to allow an entranceway to the new Council building behind. (NSW Heritage)
Macaria is an excellent example of a Picturesque Tudor-Gothic residence of brick with stone dressings, wooden fretwork on the verandahs, and high brick chimneys and gable windows. Its high pitched gable roof, which was probably once shingled, is now covered with corrugated iron. It has two single panelled timber entrance doors with a highlight window, double hung windows, ornate timber barge-boards, quoining stones and finials and pendants on the gables. (NSW Heritage)
Condition and Use
The building is in good condition. Macaria retains good integrity and intactness.
Its current use is for the Camden Council Chambers
For a house of this scale, Macaria is among the best picturesque Gothic houses in Australia. This, when combined with its importance to Camden, makes it a building of great significance. (National Estate Database)
The building is part of the John Street group.
Macaria is a fine early townhouse of distinctive and interesting architectural quality, associated with an important figure of the town's early years. (NSW Heritage)
Camden LEP No 145
Read more about Macaria on theRegister of the National Estate Click here
NSW State Heritage Inventory Click here
Camden Heritage List Click here