Forresters’ Hall (Former)
147 Argyle Street
Lot 1, DP 716784
|Former Forresters' Hall at 147 Argyle Street Camden c1920 (Camden Images)|
History and DescriptionTwo-storey adapted Federation brick building (of Federation style origins) with parapet roof. Suspended awning. Double-hung windows with timber shutters. The ground floor shop front has large fixed windows with tiled surround and glass doors.
Modifications to the street-facing facade may have occurred during the building's conversion to a theatre after WW1. In 1936 Camden Municipal Council ordered the removal of the verandah posts.
Initially built by the Lodge of Ancient Order of Royal Forresters as a hall for lodge meetings, with retail premises on Argyle Street. The building was occupied by the Empire Picture Theatre (1914-1933) and Empire Sports Club billiard saloon on the upper level (1930s-1940s).
During WW2, soldier support services ran the ACF-YMCA Hospitality Centre in the building (1944-1946). During the post-war years, the Fostars Shoe factory occupied the auditorium as part of post-war reconstruction (1947-1958). In the following years, commercial premises occupied the building, the Downes general story (1960-1985), Southern Radio and Piano Agency known as Southern Radio (then Retravision in 2002) electrical store and radio repair shop (1985-2007) and most recently as 'Treasures on Argyle' charity shop (2008-present)
Condition and UseThe building is in good condition. (HNSW)
Heritage SignificanceThe building maintains a unique historical and high aesthetic contribution to Camden township
Heritage ListingLocal Environment Plan 2010 LEP I14
NSW State Heritage Inventory 1280145